Costs and funding

€7.9–8.9 billion at 2024 prices is a range estimate in the concessionaire’s report. It is not a fixed price, not the total public cost, and not comparable with the 2024 two-runway figure without adjustment.

Facts on this page as of · Corrections

Illustration — not to scale, not the airport design
Illustration: Luís de Camões Airport Observatory (original work). About this image

The explorer below lets you compare figures, but only draws them on one scale when they share a unit, a price base and a scope. When they do not, it tells you why. We never add a 2024-price estimate to a nominal one, or a runway cost to an airport cost.

Choose two or more figures. They are drawn on one scale only if they share a unit, a price base and a scope. Otherwise the explorer explains why they cannot be compared.

All monetary and capacity figures in the explorer
FigureValuePrice baseEstimate dateScopeStatusSource
May 2024: first runway3,231 € millionnot statedComponent of the €6,105 million two-runway figure.Status: Historical / supersededPortuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government)
May 2024: second runway2,874 € millionnot statedComponent of the €6,105 million two-runway figure.Status: Historical / supersededPortuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government)
May 2024 strategic analysis (two runways)6,105 € millionnot statedCost of two runways stated in the Government's May 2024 announcement. Scope beyond the runways and price base not stated.Status: Historical / supersededPortuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government)
July 2026 technical report7,900–8,900 € million2024 pricesAirport project in ANA's technical report. Inclusion of land, military relocation, rail, Third Tagus Crossing, regional roads, financing costs, inflation and contingency not stated.Status: Officially proposedPortuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government), Jornal de Negócios
May 2024: Humberto Delgado in 203039 million passengers a year—Projected passengers at the current airport in 2030.Status: Target / forecastPortuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government)
May 2024 strategic scenario (2050)more than 100 million passengers a year—Passenger traffic that 'may exceed' this level by 2050 in the 2024 recommendation for a four-runway expansion path. A different scenario from the 2026 design capacity.Status: Target / forecastPortuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government)
RCM 119/2026up to 4.5 € millionnominal, excluding VATMaximum expenditure authorised for demilitarisation work at the firing range, plus VAT.Status: Legally decidedDiário da República
July 2026: long-term developmentup to 85 million passengers a year—Capacity the airport 'could grow to'. Horizon not stated in the sources re-read.Status: Target / forecastPortuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government), ANA – Aeroportos de Portugal (VINCI Airports)
July 2026: at opening56 million passengers a year—Design capacity in the opening year.Status: Officially proposedPortuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government), ANA – Aeroportos de Portugal (VINCI Airports)
ANA plan, July 2026about 7,000 € millionnot statedAmount ANA plans to raise by issuing debt. Price base not stated; financing not settled.Status: Officially proposedPortuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government)

Why the two cost figures cannot be compared

May 2024

6,105 € million

Covers
Two runways, in the Government’s strategic analysis
Price base
not stated
Status: Historical / superseded

July 2026

7,900–8,900 € million

Covers
The airport project in ANA’s technical report
Price base
2024 prices
Status: Officially proposed
  • Different scope: runways only versus an airport project.
  • Different price base: not stated versus 2024 prices.
  • Different stage: strategic analysis versus preliminary design.
Subtracting one from the other would not measure a cost increase. Data as of 18 October 2026, from the linked records. Graphic: Luís de Camões Airport Observatory (original work).

What the €7.9–8.9 billion estimate covers — as far as we know

Stated

Not stated whether included

  • Land and expropriations
  • Relocating the military firing range
  • The airport rail link
  • The Third Tagus Crossing
  • Regional road schemes
  • Financing costs and interest
  • Inflation after 2024
  • Contingency

Separate figures on record

We do not add these figures together: they have different scopes and price bases. Data as of 18 October 2026, from the linked records. Graphic: Luís de Camões Airport Observatory (original work).

Estimate and planned debt

Investment estimate (2024 prices)7,900–8,900 € million
Debt ANA plans to raiseabout 7,000 € million
  • Debt is one way of paying for the project, not an extra cost.
  • How the rest would be funded (equity, airport charges, concession terms) is not set out in the public documents.
  • The debt figure has no stated price base, so the two bars are a rough guide to scale only.
The lighter part of the first bar is the uncertainty range of the estimate. Data as of 18 October 2026, from the linked records. Graphic: Luís de Camões Airport Observatory (original work).

The 2024 two-runway figure, split by runway

  1. First runway3,231 € million
  2. Second runway2,874 € million

Total for two runways: 6,105 € million Status: Historical / superseded

From the Government’s May 2024 strategic analysis. Price base not stated; superseded by the July 2026 estimate, which has a different scope. Data as of 18 October 2026, from the linked records. Graphic: Luís de Camões Airport Observatory (original work).

All monetary figures

Investment estimate

Not directly comparable. These figures use different units, price bases or scopes, so they are drawn in separate panels and must not be added up or ranked against each other.

Investment estimate — not stated
FigureValuePrice baseEstimate dateScopeStatusSource
May 2024: first runway3,231 € millionnot statedComponent of the €6,105 million two-runway figure.Status: Historical / supersededPortuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government)
May 2024: second runway2,874 € millionnot statedComponent of the €6,105 million two-runway figure.Status: Historical / supersededPortuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government)
May 2024 strategic analysis (two runways)6,105 € millionnot statedCost of two runways stated in the Government's May 2024 announcement. Scope beyond the runways and price base not stated.Status: Historical / supersededPortuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government)
Investment estimate — 2024 prices
FigureValuePrice baseEstimate dateScopeStatusSource
July 2026 technical report7,900–8,900 € million2024 pricesAirport project in ANA's technical report. Inclusion of land, military relocation, rail, Third Tagus Crossing, regional roads, financing costs, inflation and contingency not stated.Status: Officially proposedPortuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government), Jornal de Negócios

Planned debt financing

Planned debt financing — not stated
FigureValuePrice baseEstimate dateScopeStatusSource
ANA plan, July 2026about 7,000 € millionnot statedAmount ANA plans to raise by issuing debt. Price base not stated; financing not settled.Status: Officially proposedPortuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government)

Demilitarisation works

Demilitarisation works — nominal, excluding VAT
FigureValuePrice baseEstimate dateScopeStatusSource
RCM 119/2026up to 4.5 € millionnominal, excluding VATMaximum expenditure authorised for demilitarisation work at the firing range, plus VAT.Status: Legally decidedDiário da República

What the documents say

Open questions

  1. What exactly does the €7.9–8.9 billion estimate include?

    Open

    Why it matters

    Without the scope, the figure cannot be compared with earlier estimates or with the total public cost.

    What is known so far

    The estimate is at 2024 prices. Whether it covers land, the military relocation, rail, the Third Tagus Crossing, roads, financing costs, inflation and contingency is not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Source: Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government)

  2. How will the project be financed, and how will airport charges be regulated?

    Open

    Why it matters

    Passengers and airlines may pay through charges; taxpayers may be exposed if public money is involved.

    What is known so far

    ANA plans about €7 billion of debt and proposes progressive charge increases at Humberto Delgado in 2026–2030. The financial report is due on 16 January 2027.

    Source: Portuguese Government — Ministry of Infrastructure and Housing Source: Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government)

Questions answered

How much will it cost?

The technical report estimates €7.9–8.9 billion at 2024 prices. It is a range estimate, not a fixed-price contract, and it is not stated whether it includes land, the military relocation, rail, the Third Tagus Crossing, roads, financing costs, inflation or contingency.

Source: Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government) Permalink: How much will it cost?

What does ‘at 2024 prices’ mean?

The figure is expressed in the value of money in 2024. Costs actually paid in later years will be in nominal euros, which include inflation. A 2024-price estimate cannot be compared with a later nominal budget without recalculation.

Source: Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government) Permalink: What does ‘at 2024 prices’ mean?

Is the cost higher than the 2024 estimate?

The figures are not directly comparable. The 2024 announcement gave €6,105 million for two runways, without stating scope or price base; the 2026 estimate covers ANA’s airport project at 2024 prices. The observatory shows them side by side but does not subtract one from the other.

Source: Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government) Source: Portuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government) Permalink: Is the cost higher than the 2024 estimate?

Who pays?

ANA plans to raise about €7 billion through debt and proposes progressive airport-charge increases at Humberto Delgado between 2026 and 2030. The financing was not settled at the baseline date; the financial report is due on 16 January 2027. Whether any public money is involved is not established.

Source: Portuguese Government — Ministry of Infrastructure and Housing Source: Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government) Permalink: Who pays?

Will flights from Lisbon get more expensive?

ANA proposes progressively increasing airport charges at Humberto Delgado in 2026–2030. How much of that reaches ticket prices depends on airlines and on the regulatory process for charges, which the observatory has not yet documented.

Source: Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government) Permalink: Will flights from Lisbon get more expensive?

How much does moving the military cost?

A June 2026 resolution authorised up to €4.5 million plus VAT for demilitarisation work at the current range. The full cost of the replacement range in Alter do Chão has not been found in the sources reviewed.

Source: Diário da República Permalink: How much does moving the military cost?

Sources

  1. Tier 2 Official statement · Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government) ·

    Luís de Camões Airport should represent an investment of between 7.9 and 8.9 billion

    Original: Luís de Camões Airport should represent an investment of between 7.9 and 8.9 billion Link checked

  2. Tier 4 Independent reporting · Jornal de Negócios ·

    Two runways and 64 boarding gates: see what the new Luís de Camões airport will look like

    Original: Two runways and 64 boarding gates: see what the new Luís de Camões airport will look like Link checked

  3. Tier 1 Legal instrument · Diário da República ·

    Council of Ministers Resolution 119/2026 RCM 119/2026

    Original: Council of Ministers Resolution 119/2026 Link checked

  4. Tier 2 Official statement · Portuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government) ·

    Government chooses Alcochete as the site of the new airport

    Original: Government chooses Alcochete as the site of the new airport Link checked

Related explainers