The July 2026 design at a glance
Proposed by ANA in July 2026 — under Government review since 28 September 2026. Not approved.
- 2runways in the initial phaseStatus: Officially proposed
- about 500,000 m²single passenger terminalStatus: Officially proposed
- 64boarding gatesStatus: Officially proposed
- 72contact boarding bridgesStatus: Officially proposed
- 120aircraft stands (VINCI release)Status: Officially proposed
- 56 millionpassengers a year at openingStatus: Officially proposed
- up to 85 millionpassengers a year, long termStatus: Target / forecast
- 7,900–8,900 € millioninvestment estimate, 2024 pricesStatus: Officially proposed
- from 2035opening target, after tests and certificationStatus: Target / forecast
Investment estimate
Not directly comparable. These figures use different units, price bases or scopes, so they are drawn in separate panels and must not be added up or ranked against each other.
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2024: first runway | 3,231 € million | not stated | Component of the €6,105 million two-runway figure. | Status: Historical / superseded | Portuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government) | |
| May 2024: second runway | 2,874 € million | not stated | Component of the €6,105 million two-runway figure. | Status: Historical / superseded | Portuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government) | |
| May 2024 strategic analysis (two runways) | 6,105 € million | not stated | Cost of two runways stated in the Government's May 2024 announcement. Scope beyond the runways and price base not stated. | Status: Historical / superseded | Portuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government) |
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2026 technical report | 7,900–8,900 € million | 2024 prices | Airport project in ANA's technical report. Inclusion of land, military relocation, rail, Third Tagus Crossing, regional roads, financing costs, inflation and contingency not stated. | Status: Officially proposed | Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government), Jornal de Negócios |
Passenger capacity
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2026: long-term development | up to 85 million passengers a year | — | Capacity the airport 'could grow to'. Horizon not stated in the sources re-read. | Status: Target / forecast | Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government), ANA – Aeroportos de Portugal (VINCI Airports) | |
| July 2026: at opening | 56 million passengers a year | — | Design capacity in the opening year. | Status: Officially proposed | Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government), ANA – Aeroportos de Portugal (VINCI Airports) |
Passenger demand forecasts
Not directly comparable. These figures use different units, price bases or scopes, so they are drawn in separate panels and must not be added up or ranked against each other.
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2024: Humberto Delgado in 2030 | 39 million passengers a year | — | Projected passengers at the current airport in 2030. | Status: Target / forecast | Portuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government) |
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2024 strategic scenario (2050) | more than 100 million passengers a year | — | Passenger traffic that 'may exceed' this level by 2050 in the 2024 recommendation for a four-runway expansion path. A different scenario from the 2026 design capacity. | Status: Target / forecast | Portuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government) |
Opening and completion targets
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 plan: first runway built | 2030 | — | Year by which the first runway should be built, per May 2024. | Status: Historical / superseded | Portuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government) | |
| 2024 plan: second runway built | 2031 | — | Year by which the second runway should be built, per May 2024. | Status: Historical / superseded | Portuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government) | |
| July 2026: opening from 2035 | from 2035 | — | Opening 'from 2035', after tests and certification. | Status: Target / forecast | Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government) | |
| July 2026: rail line opens | 2034 | — | Opening year announced for the Lisbon–Airport rail line. | Status: Target / forecast | Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government) | |
| July 2026: construction 2029–2033 | 2029–2033 | — | Start and completion years of construction in the July 2026 schedule. | Status: Target / forecast | Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government) | |
| Reported: 2037 (unverified) | 2037 | — | Opening year reported as the concessionaire's longer schedule; no primary document identified. | Status: Unverified | Portuguese Government — Ministry of Infrastructure and Housing |
Runways
Not directly comparable. These figures use different units, price bases or scopes, so they are drawn in separate panels and must not be added up or ranked against each other.
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2024: possible expansion | up to 4 runways | — | Possible long-term expansion in the 2024 recommendation. | Status: Target / forecast | Portuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government) |
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2026 design (initial) | 2 runways | — | Runways in the first phase of the 2026 design. | Status: Officially proposed | ANA – Aeroportos de Portugal (VINCI Airports), Jornal de Negócios |
Runway capacity (movements per hour)
Not directly comparable. These figures use different units, price bases or scopes, so they are drawn in separate panels and must not be added up or ranked against each other.
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2024: Humberto Delgado target | 45 movements an hour | — | Capacity increase at the current airport under the 2024 decision. | Status: Target / forecast | Portuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government) |
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2024: two-runway base model | 90–95 movements an hour | — | Hourly aircraft movements of the 2024 base model. | Status: Target / forecast | Portuguese Government (XXIV Constitutional Government) |
Passenger terminal area
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2026 design | about 500,000 m² | — | Gross area of the single passenger terminal. | Status: Officially proposed | ANA – Aeroportos de Portugal (VINCI Airports), VINCI Airports, Jornal de Negócios |
Boarding gates
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2026 design | 64 gates | — | Boarding gates in the design. | Status: Officially proposed | ANA – Aeroportos de Portugal (VINCI Airports), Jornal de Negócios |
Contact boarding bridges
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2026 design | 72 bridges | — | Contact boarding bridges in the design. | Status: Officially proposed | ANA – Aeroportos de Portugal (VINCI Airports), Jornal de Negócios |
Aircraft stands
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2026 design (VINCI release) | 120 stands | — | Aircraft stands stated by VINCI Airports. | Status: Officially proposed | VINCI Airports |
Self-service check-in kiosks
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2026 design (VINCI release) | 194 kiosks | — | Kiosks stated by VINCI Airports. | Status: Officially proposed | VINCI Airports |
Rail journey time to central Lisbon
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2026 proposal | about 20 minutes | — | Advertised journey time on the proposed dedicated link. | Status: Officially proposed | Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government), ANA – Aeroportos de Portugal (VINCI Airports) |
Rail passengers per year (estimate)
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2026 estimate | 20 million passengers a year | — | Passengers expected to travel to and from the airport by train. | Status: Target / forecast | Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government) |
Road works
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New roads (Government: 250 km; ANA: more than 250 km) | 250 km | — | Length of new road infrastructure planned. | Status: Officially proposed | Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government), ANA – Aeroportos de Portugal (VINCI Airports) | |
| Upgrades to existing network | more than 50 km | — | Length of existing roads to be upgraded. | Status: Officially proposed | Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government), ANA – Aeroportos de Portugal (VINCI Airports) |
Daily road traffic (estimate)
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heavy vehicles | about 2,000 vehicles a day | — | Estimated daily heavy-vehicle movements. | Status: Target / forecast | Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government) | |
| Light vehicles | 65,000 vehicles a day | — | Estimated daily light-vehicle movements on the access network. | Status: Target / forecast | Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government) |
Environmental impact study
Not directly comparable. These figures use different units, price bases or scopes, so they are drawn in separate panels and must not be added up or ranked against each other.
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EIA submitted 31 July 2026 | about 5,000 pages | — | Approximate length of the submitted study. | Status: Completed and verified | ANA – Aeroportos de Portugal (VINCI Airports) |
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EIA team | more than 60 specialists | — | Specialists who worked on the study, per ANA. | Status: Completed and verified | ANA – Aeroportos de Portugal (VINCI Airports) |
Planned debt financing
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ANA plan, July 2026 | about 7,000 € million | not stated | Amount ANA plans to raise by issuing debt. Price base not stated; financing not settled. | Status: Officially proposed | Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government) |
Demilitarisation works
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RCM 119/2026 | up to 4.5 € million | nominal, excluding VAT | Maximum expenditure authorised for demilitarisation work at the firing range, plus VAT. | Status: Legally decided | Diário da República |
Replacement firing range
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alter do Chão (March 2026) | about 7,500 ha | — | Approximate area of the replacement military firing range. | Status: Officially proposed | Ministério da Defesa Nacional |
Stakeholder consultation
| Figure | Value | Price base | Estimate date | Scope | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 consultation | more than 100 bodies consulted | — | Bodies consulted by ANA for the first interim report. | Status: Completed and verified | Portuguese Government (XXV Constitutional Government) |
Download the figures as JSON from our open data endpoint. Each record keeps its version history.